You are here

January 2018

Be Not Afraid Family Hour

Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday until Sun Jun 10 2018.
Sunday, January 14, 2018 - 6:00pm
Sunday, January 21, 2018 - 6:00pm
Sunday, January 28, 2018 - 6:00pm
Sunday, February 4, 2018 - 6:00pm
Sunday, February 11, 2018 - 6:00pm
Sunday, February 18, 2018 - 6:00pm
Sunday, February 25, 2018 - 6:00pm
Sunday, March 4, 2018 - 6:00pm
Sunday, March 11, 2018 - 6:00pm
Sunday, March 18, 2018 - 6:00pm
Sunday, March 25, 2018 - 6:00pm
Sunday, April 1, 2018 - 6:00pm
Sunday, April 8, 2018 - 6:00pm
Sunday, April 15, 2018 - 6:00pm
Sunday, April 22, 2018 - 6:00pm
Sunday, April 29, 2018 - 6:00pm
Sunday, May 6, 2018 - 6:00pm
Sunday, May 13, 2018 - 6:00pm
Sunday, May 20, 2018 - 6:00pm
Sunday, May 27, 2018 - 6:00pm
Sunday, June 3, 2018 - 6:00pm
Sunday, June 10, 2018 - 6:00pm

Be Not Afraid Family Hour: 6-7 p.m. at Christ the King Church, 654 S. 86th St., Omaha. Sacrament of reconciliation available.

Essential Pregnancy (EPS) Benefit Dinner – Glow “Giving Life through Our Works”

Date: 
Sunday, January 28, 2018 - 5:00pm

Essential Pregnancy (EPS) Benefit Dinner – Glow “Giving Life through Our Works”: Jan. 28, 5 p.m. cocktail hour, 6 p.m. dinner at Embassy Suites La Vista Hotel and Conference Center, 12520 Westport Parkway, La Vista. Event is free and open to the public. Donations are welcome. Register at friendsofeps.org/glow or call 402-554-0121. Guest entertainer is comedian Jeff Allen.

HOLMAN-Max A.

HOLMAN-Max A., 90. Funeral Mass Jan. 8 at St. Mary Church, Bellevue. Interment St. John Cemetery, Bellevue. Preceded in death by wife, Rose. Survived by sister, Nancy Gradoville; nieces; nephews; great-niece. Memorials to Alzheimer’s Association.

KORISKO LARKIN STASKIEWICZ

FUNERAL HOME

RIES-Mary Agnes

RIES-Mary Agnes, 87. Funeral Mass Jan. 8 at Christ the King Church. Interment Calvary Cemetery. Preceded in death by parents; son, Joseph Gerald; siblings, Patricia Ann Dearduff, Daniel J. Monen Jr., and James P. Monen. Survived by husband, Gerald E.


Federal Judge Stephen Gerrard, far left, with Creighton Preparatory School teacher-coach James Justice, team members Dominic Mendlik, Peter Owens, Jaliya Nagahawatte, Graham Laughlin, Isaiah Mueller, Nolan Drain and Patrick Gillaspie, and attorney coaches Pat Cooper and Mark Laughlin, shortly after the Creighton team is named state mock trial champions. Courtesy photo.

Creighton Prep wins second straight state mock trial

For a second straight year, Creighton Preparatory School in Omaha won the state mock trial competition and will compete in the national championship May 10-12 in Reno, Nev.
 

Father Douglas Hall, recently retired, spends some time in prayer at St. Robert Bellarmine Church in Omaha. Photo by LISA SPELLMAN For the Catholic Voice

Father Hall reflects on life of service

It was 1992. Father Douglas Hall found himself ministering to thousands of Catholics in a country where such actions were forbidden.
 
A chaplain in the U.S. Air Force, Father Hall was assigned to the military base in Dhahran, Saudi Arabia. While there, he encountered a large population of foreign workers from the Philippines who were practicing Catholics.

Dr. San Juana Mendoza (left) speaks with Mercy associate Barbara Quinlan-Geihl, Sister of Mercy Kathleen Erickson and Clara Lombardi of the Sisters of Mercy communications office at Clínica Cristo Rey in Juarez, Mexico, across the border from El Paso, Texas. Mendoza founded the clinic to provide low- and no-cost primary health care to residents of the Anapra neighborhood of Juarez.

Mercy sister leads border immersion tour

Sister of Mercy Kathleen Erickson, who for more than two decades has been involved with educating people about immigration issues and ministering to immigrants detained on the U.S.-Mexican border, said controversy surrounding the topic is fostered by fear, a lack of knowledge, inequality among corporations and a struggle to know what to do.
 

Pages

The Catholic Voice

The Archdiocese of Omaha • Catholic Voice
402-558-6611 • Fax 402 558-6614 •
E-mail Us

Copyright 2018 - All Rights Reserved.
This information may not be published, broadcast,
rewritten or redistributed without written permission.

Comment Here