Archdiocese honors eight educators

The archdiocese honored eight educators at the 42nd Annual Archbishop’s Dinner for Education Sept. 12 at Embassy Suites in La Vista.

About 1,000 people attended the dinner, which also raised money for the Children’s Scholarship Fund of Omaha for scholarships for students of low-income families.

The honorees:

Administrators of the year – Mike Dempsey of Daniel J. Gross Catholic High School in Bellevue and Jennifer Fiscus of St. Rose of Lima School in Crofton.

Elementary educators of the year – Cindy Menzel of St. Mary School in Bellevue and Nancy Hochsten of Holy Trinity School in Hartington.

Secondary educators of the year – Marsha Kalkowski of Marian High School in Omaha and Karen Schmeichel of St. Mary High School in O’Neill.

Special education and inner city educators of the year (funded by the Maginn Family Foundation) – Suzanne Seyler of St. Bernard School in Omaha and Diane Vaiskunas of Madonna School in Omaha.

Amy and Todd Foje served as chairpersons for the dinner, and Teresa and Rollie Johns were co-chairs. Nancy Abboud was the honorary chairperson.

Sign up for weekly updates and news from the Archdiocese of Omaha!
This is default text for notification bar