Death penalty in Nebraska

1903 – Gottlieb Neigenfind is first person executed by the state, by hanging. Before that, counties carried out executions.
1913 – Nebraska begins using the electric chair for executions.
1972 – U.S. Supreme Court effectively suspends capital punishment over sentencing guidelines.
1976 – U.S. Supreme Court upholds death penalty sentencing reforms undertaken by states. 
1979 – Nebraska Legislature votes to repeal death penalty; Gov. Charles Thone vetoes the bill.
1994 – Harold Lamont Otey is first person executed in Nebraska since Charles Starkweather in 1959; two other men are executed, in 1996 and 1997.
2008 – Nebraska Supreme Court rules electric chair is cruel and unusual punishment.
2009 – Legislature makes lethal injection the state’s new method of execution.
2015 – Legislature bans the death penalty over Gov. Pete Ricketts’ veto.
2016 – Nebraska voters reinstate the death penalty in November election.
2018 – Carey Dean Moore faces an Aug. 14 execution by lethal injection.    
Sign up for weekly updates and news from the Archdiocese of Omaha!
This is default text for notification bar